Click to Home
Go To Search
The History of the Little Blue Valley Sewer District
The Little Blue Valley Sewer District was incorporated in 1968 by a decree of the Circuit
Court of Jackson County. The District was formed for the purpose of complying with
federal and state water quality regulations. State regulations for the Little Blue River required
the elimination of all "municipal or industrial effluents, except unpolluted cooling
water, in the Little Blue River".

The geographic area of the District includes portions of Jackson and Cass Counties
and the Cities of Belton, Blue Springs, Grandview, Independence, Kansas City, Lake
Tapawingo, Lee's Summit, Raymore, Raytown, and Sugar Creek, and the Fort Osage
School District, and Middle Big Creek Subdistrict. One federal installation, Alliant
Techsystems, Inc. - Lake City Army Ammunition Division, is also located within the
District's boundaries. Middle Big Creek is a separate geographic watershed area that
was established as a Subdistrict of the Little Blue Valley Sewer District in 1992. The
current customers of the Subdistrict include the communities of Greenwood, portions
of Raymore, and Lee's Summit, Lake Winnebago, unincorporated Cass County and the
Mullendike and Dikeland Sewer Districts. The total land area served by the District is
approximately 278 square miles.